Rendez-vous avec Gabrielle Vizzavona

INTERVIEW : JÉRÔME TOURBIER

By Gabrielle Vizzavona

IMAGINING LIFE AFTER… JÉRÔME TOURBIER, CO-CEO OF SOURCES DE CAUDALIE AND SOURCES DE CHEVERNY:

« OUR PHILOSOPHY IS TO HAVE OUR FEET ON THE GROUND, HEAD IN THE STARS »

Jérôme and Alice Tourbier define themselves as lifestyle entrepreneurs. Their     evocative moniker captures the spirit of the wine tourism venues combining hotel, restaurant, wine and spa that they have developed hand in hand. In just 20 years, Les Sources de Caudalie, set against the backdrop of Château Smith Haut Lafite in Pessac-Léognan, has become a Bordeaux institution and a mecca for gourmet food and wine enthusiasts. From September 1, 2020, Les Sources de Cheverny, near Château de Chambord, will join its sister venue in Bordeaux and act as a showcase for the wines of the Loire Valley. Jérôme Tourbier also authored the book ‘Tourisme en péril’ (Tourism in Jeopardy) published by JC Lattès, where he provides solutions for restoring the attractiveness of France as a destination.

What are the prospects for wine tourism over the coming months?

Wine tourism has already resumed and the trend will grow over the summer, but with a different clientele, mostly French with offers that are targeted at them. There is one opportunity that should give us hope and that is that the 9 million French people who usually go abroad will mostly stay in France for the summer holidays, and will want to reconnect with nature. There is a very strong desire to rediscover our regions. Our philosophy is to have “our feet on the ground, head in the stars”. For us, “feet on the ground” has always meant staying connected with our French and even local clients.

What are the expectations of French customers?

Wine is part of the nation’s cultural heritage, which means that people who are even more discerning will come to us. We see ourselves as a conduit for passing on the knowledge of local winegrowers and producers. Our aim was to become a gateway for the French to grow their interest in wine. At Les Sources de Caudalie, our mission for the last 20 years has been to make Bordeaux wines less fussy, and we will continue this with Loire wines at Les Sources de Cheverny.

Are French customers more price-sensitive?

Yes, French customers are more price-sensitive than overseas customers. We have to make an effort to rein in our mark-ups and allow our French customers to treat themselves to some fine wines with their meal, so that they can take home an even more memorable experience. The sommelier’s selection at our two-star restaurant ‘La Grand’ Vigne’ has first growths by the glass at reasonable prices.

Prices of 2019 Bordeaux en primeur have dropped by 20 to 40 %. Will this boost consumption of Bordeaux by the French?

The En Primeur campaign is a reminder that there is pressure on prices. This will allow French buyers who could no longer afford some labels to once again buy wines they have fond memories of – wines from their youth or those that their parents or grandparents used to drink regularly.

Is the Bordeaux wine market very different to that for Loire wines?

Bordeaux’s strength is its particularly efficient distribution network, which means that some chateaux are global in scope. Many winegrowers and appellations do not yet have this power of distribution and would benefit from greater notoriety. In the Loire, we are realising that there are many, excellent quality wines that are still very affordable. It is no accident that the United States are taking a greater interest in the region – market forces are at work.

What opportunities has the crisis brought with it?

Like all crises, it is accelerating change. In the hospitality industry, the English sum it up very well by saying “automate the predictable to humanise the exceptional”. A customer’s digital journey (information, reservations, obtaining rates) must now be as efficient as possible. For small family-run companies such as ours, these are developments that we are compelled to understand. However, this is by no means the end of creative intelligence for service. In fact, the digital customer journey allows us to free up time to be with our clients.

Are there other advantages of increased digitisation?

We are heading towards much greater transparency. Customers are browsing pricing websites and looking for trade wine prices. Restaurant mark-ups are becoming less opaque and this benefits consumers. Ultimately, the consumer is always the prime beneficiary of a crisis.

Read also

Interviews, Rendez-vous avec Gabrielle Vizzavona

INTERVIEW : JÉRÔME TOURBIER

Par Gabrielle Vizzavona

IMAGINER L’APRÈS. JÉRÔME TOURBIER, CO-DIRECTEUR DES SOURCES DE CAUDALIE ET DES SOURCES DE CHEVERNY :

« NOTRE PHILOSOPHIE EST D’AVOIRLES PIEDS SUR TERRE ET LA TÊTE DANS LES ÉTOILES »

Jérôme et Alice Tourbier se définissent comme entrepreneurs de l’art de vivre. Un bien joli titre qui évoque les lieux oenotouristiques qui lient hôtellerie, restauration, vin et spa qu’ils ont développés main dans la main. Les Sources de Caudalies, blotties contre le Château Smith Haut Laffite à Pessac-Léognan, sont devenues en 20 ans une institution bordelaise et un haut lieu de la gastronomie et du vin. À elles, s’ajouteront dès le 1er septembre 2020 les Sources de Cheverny, proches du château de Chambord, qui mettront en exergue les vins du Val de Loire. Jérôme Tourbier est aussi l’auteur du livre « Tourisme en péril » aux éditions JC Lattès, dans lequel il fournit des solutions pour rendre à la France son attractivité.

Comment s’oriente l’oenotourisme pour les mois à venir ?

L’oenotourisme a déjà repris et cela va encore s’accentuer pendant l’été, avec une clientèle différente, car très largement française et des offres qui s’adressent à elle. Il y a une opportunité qui doit nous donner de l’espoir : les 9 millions de français qui partent habituellement à l’étranger vont majoritairement rester en France pour les vacances d’été, avec le besoin de retrouver un contact avec la nature. L’envie de redécouvrir nos territoires est très forte. Notre philosophie est d’avoir « les pieds sur terre et la tête dans les étoiles ». « Les pieds sur terre », pour nous, cela a toujours consisté à rester connectés à notre clientèle française et même locale.

Quelles sont les attentes de la clientèle française ?

Le vin fait partie du patrimoine culturel national. Cela signifie que des gens encore plus connaisseurs vont venir nous trouver. Nous nous considérons comme les passeurs du savoir des vignerons et des producteurs locaux et voulions être une porte d’entrée pour que les Français s’intéressent au vin. Aux Sources de Caudalie, nous nous sommes positionnés depuis 20 ans comme démocratisateurs des vins de bordeaux, nous allons poursuivre cela avec les vins de Loire aux Sources de Cheverny.

La clientèle française est-elle plus sensible au prix ?

La clientèle française a effectivement une plus forte sensibilité au prix que la clientèle étrangère. Nous devons faire des efforts pour maintenir des coefficients raisonnables et permettre à notre clientèle française de s’offrir de grands vins pour accompagner son repas, pour qu’elle se crée un souvenir encore meilleur. La sélection du sommelier de notre restaurant deux étoiles « La Grand’ Vigne » propose des premiers grands crus classés au verre à des prix raisonnables.

Le prix des primeurs de Bordeaux 2019 a diminué de 20 à 40 %. Cela relancera-t-il la consommation des Français de grands vins de bordeaux ?

La campagne primeur nous renseigne qu’il y a une pression sur les prix. Cela va permettre aux acheteurs français qui ne pouvaient plus s’offrir certaines étiquettes de pouvoir acquérir à nouveau certains crus dont ils avaient la nostalgie ; les vins de leur jeunesse ou ceux que leurs parents ou leurs grands-parents consommaient régulièrement.

Le marché des vins de bordeaux est-il très différent de celui des vins de Loire ?

La force de bordeaux est de bénéficier d’un réseau de distribution particulièrement efficace, qui fait que certains châteaux rayonnent à travers le monde. De nombreux vignerons et appellations n’ont pas encore cette puissance de distribution et gagnent à être connus. Nous découvrons dans la Loire un vignoble où il y a énormément de vins d’excellente qualité et qui sont encore très abordables. L’intérêt grandissant des États-Unis pour cette région n’est pas un hasard ; les lois du marché fonctionnent.

Quelles opportunités la crise apporte-t-elle ?

Comme toutes les crises, c’est un accélérateur. Dans l’hôtellerie, les Anglais le résument très bien par cette phrase ; « automate the predictible to humanize the exceptionnal » (« automatiser le prévisible pour humaniser l’exceptionnel »). Aujourd’hui, le parcours digital d’un client (renseignements, réservation, obtention de tarifs) doit être d’une efficacité optimale. Pour les maisons familiales de petite taille comme la nôtre, ce sont des chantiers que nous sommes obligés d’appréhender. Ce n’est en revanche absolument pas la fin de l’intelligence créative du service. Bien au contraire ; ce parcours digital nous permet de libérer du temps pour être face à nos clients.

L’accélération digitale a-t-elle d’autres vertus ?

Nous nous dirigeons vers beaucoup plus de transparence ; les clients surfent sur les sites de cotation et cherchent les prix des vins dans le commerce. La marge des restaurateurs s’éclaircit au profit du consommateur. Le consommateur est toujours le grand gagnant des crises.

à lire aussi