Destination Singapore,
a mature and influential market

In 2023, Vinexpo Asia is heading for Singapore, a key city for
international trade in Asia-Pacific, especially for wines and spirits.

A key hub for trade

Due to its outstanding coastal location in South-East Asia, Singapore is the world’s second largest commercial port and its sixth largest financial centre. The business environment is stable, dynamic and conducive to trade, a position bolstered by numerous free-trade agreements. Singapore has an open economy and the city hosts over 40,000 international companies.

The Singapore event reaches out to many markets across the Asia-Pacific region, including China, Australia, Korea, Japan and, crucially, young wine markets with high growth prospects such as Indonesia and Vietnam.

Asia-Pacific represents 10% of wine imports worldwide. The outlook for 2025 is for beverage alcohol to grow by 1.5%, rising to +5.9% for the ready-to-drink segment.

World class Singapore

The city of Singapore alone represents a mature and increasingly attractive market with 3% growth forecast for the wine market by 2025. Gastronomy and wine are particularly dynamic due to the remarkable fabric of bars and restaurants, a significant share of which feature in today’s global top 500.

Singapore is also Asia’s most favourable region for the premium segment (42% of sales). Whilst highly competitive, the Singapore wine and spirits market gains ground year-on-year and has the ability to welcome new products, provided their marketing strategy caters to its specific needs.

Through their history and culture, the 5.6 million Singapore residents have an open-minded approach to the world. They have adopted a Western lifestyle and are accustomed to influences and products from around the globe.

Dubbed the ‘garden city’ for its lush greenery – which covers nearly 50% of its footprint – Singapore is also a great place to live and stay. For many criteria, including quality of life, education, healthcare, safety and housing, it ranks high up on the international league table.

Destination Singapour,
marché mature et influent

En 2023, Vinexpo Asia met le cap sur Singapour, ville clé du commerce international
en Asie Pacifique, et notamment pour les vins et spiritueux.

Un hub commercial incontournable

Avec sa situation maritime exceptionnelle en Asie du Sud-Est, Singapour est le 2e port de commerce du monde et sa 6e place financière. Le climat d’affaires y est stable, dynamique et propice aux échanges. Il est renforcé par de nombreux accords de libre-échange. L’économie de Singapour est ouverte. La ville accueille plus de 40 000 entreprises internationales.

L’événement de Singapour permet de toucher les nombreux marchés de la zone Asie-Pacifique : Chine, Australie, Corée, Japon, etc. Notamment de jeunes marchés du vin à hautes perspectives de croissance comme l’Indonésie ou le Vietnam.

L’Asie Pacifique représente 10% des imports de vins dans le monde. Les perspectives de croissance d’ici à 2025 sont de +1,5% pour les boissons alcoolisées, et même +5,9% sur le segment “Ready-to-Drink”.

Singapour, top niveau mondial

La ville de Singapour en elle-même constitue un marché mature, toujours plus attractif, avec +3% de croissance attendue d’ici à 2025 sur le marché du vin. Une dynamique particulière est à l’œuvre pour la gastronomie et le vin dans toute la ville. La cité présente ainsi un remarquable maillage de bars et restaurants, dont un nombre conséquent figure dans le top 500 mondial actuel.

Singapour est aussi le territoire d’Asie le plus propice au segment Premium (42% des ventes). Fortement concurrentiel, le marché singapourien des vins et spiritueux s’étend chaque année et peut accueillir de nouveaux produits, à condition de définir une stratégie marketing adaptée.

Ouverte sur le monde par son histoire et sa culture, la population de Singapour (5,6 millions d’habitants) a adopté un mode de vie occidentalisé et est habituée aux influences et produits venant du monde entier.

Surnommée la “cité jardin” pour sa végétation luxuriante – qui couvre près de 50 % de son territoire – Singapour est aussi une ville où il fait bon vivre ou séjourner. La ville truste les premières places internationales sur de nombreux critères tels que la qualité de vie, l’éducation, les soins de santé, la sécurité ou le logement…